DeSoto Texas Cultural Arts Foundation

The City of DeSoto believes that Residents from diverse backgrounds and abilities must be considered and included in the development of the City’s arts policies and programs. Through the arts, citizens develop belonging, pride and ownership in the City’s future because in DeSoto, there is:


DTCAF Board Members 2023 Retreat
The DeSoto Texas Cultural Arts Foundation Board consists of citizens challenged to assist in the implementation of the City's Cultural Arts Master Plan for transforming Nance Farm into a historical Artist Hub, as well as fostering a vibrant arts scene that embraces diversity and innovation, while creating an environment where the arts can thrive, enriching the lives of residents and visitors alike.

  • Comprised of nine (9) members appointed by the City Council and four (4) non-voting ex-officio members of which two (2) shall be students, to serve as follows with term limits of six years.
    • Initial Directors
      • five (5) shall be appointed to serve a two (2) year term
      • four (4) shall be appointed to serve a one (1) year term 
    • Subsequent Directors shall be appointed to the Board for a term of two (2) years.

The Cultural Arts Foundation Board is challenged to:

  • Transform and enrich the City community by providing an intimate and dynamic experience with the arts across generations and across the region that inspires the exploration of curiosity, creativity, and culture; 
  • Administer the DeSoto Artists Lab artists in residency process;
  • Lead the process of acquiring Public Art for the City of DeSoto;
  • Nurture and promote the history of the City as its official historical society by collecting and preserving the basic materials of history both in written and digital forms and in the forms of art and artifacts and historical landmarks and sites;
  • Promote the use and understanding of history by supporting historical research and publication and sponsoring the dissemination and interpretation of that material to the public as a guardian for the City’s historic cultural diversity; 

meeting schedule
At least, Quarterly Meetings as follows:

6:00 p.m. on the first Monday of the second month of the quarter in the Council Conference Room at DeSoto City Hall.

Additional meetings are likely to accomplish the Foundation’s mission.

Staff representatives
Rolanda Brigham
Arts, Culture and Heritage Manager

Kathy Jones
Community Relations Manager

Council Representative
Nicole Raphiel
Councilmember, Place 3

Board members
James Adams, President
Initial Appointment: 05/23
Current Term Expires: 05/25

Wil Adams
Initial Appointment: 05/23
Current Term Expires: 05/24

Latonya Sneed
Initial Appointment: 05/23
Current Term Expires: 05/25

Roslyn  Young
Initial Appointment: 05/23
Current Term Expires: 05/24

Janice Garrett, Secretary
Initial Appointment: 05/23
Current Term Expires:  05/25

Brandi Johnson
Initial Appointment: 06/23
Current Term Expires: 06/24

Marchelo Eans
Initial Appointment: 06/23
Current Term Expires: 06/24

Marikay Dewberry, Vice President
Initial Appointment: 06/23
Current Term Expires:  06/24

James White
Ex-officio Member Representing Meadowbrook HOA

Pamela Spooner
Ex-officio Member Representing
Mantlebrook HOA

03/04/24 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for March  4, 2024 Agenda
02/05/24 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for February 5, 2024 Agenda
01/05/24 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for January 8, 2024 Agenda
12/02/23 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for December 2, 2023 Agenda Minutes
11/06/23 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for November 6, 2023 Agenda Minutes
10/02/23 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for October 2, 2023 Agenda Minutes
08/07/23 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for August 7, 2023 Agenda Minutes
06/26/23 DTCAF Meeting Agenda for June 26, 2023 Agenda Minutes