DeSoto Development Corporation


  • Comprised of five members appointed by the City Council to serve for a three-year term with term limits of six years.  
  • Promotes quality development within the City of DeSoto.
  • Manage budget of funds received from 3/8 cent sales tax collected in DeSoto
  • Eligible candidates should have a minimum of one of the following qualifications:
    • Serve, or have served as Chief Executive Officer of a company
    • Serve, or have served, in a position of executive management of a company
    • Serve, or have served, in a professional capacity
    • Have experience equivalent to any of the above qualifications and must be bondable

Meeting Schedule

The DeSoto Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors meets the fourth Monday of each month at 9:00 a.m. in the City Council Conference Room at City Hall. Special meetings, when necessary.

DEDC Staff

Joe Newman
Chief Executive Officer
Research and Business Development Manager
Administrative Assistant

Council Representative

Andre' Byrd
Councilmember - Place 4
Email Councilmember Byrd

Board of Directors

Curt Krohn, President
Initial Appointment: 7/15
Current Term Expires: 12/22
Michelle Jordan Secretary/Treasurer
Initial Appointment: 06/18
Current Term Expires: 12/21

Wendy Johnson
Initial Appointment: 03/21
Current Term Expires: 12/24
Dr. Delva King

Initial Appointment: 01/19
Current Term Expires: 12/22
Paul Griffin, Jr., Director
Initial Appointment: 11/19 
Current Term Expires: 12/21