Mayor and City Council

City Council 2023

DeSoto City Council Overview

The City Council is the governing and law making body of the City of DeSoto and consists of a Mayor and six Councilmembers.  All are elected at large, by qualified voters of the entire city, and members must reside in the district they represent. The Mayor represents the city as a whole and is not required to live in a particular district.


Meetings are open to the public and are held on the first and third Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers in City Hall at Town Center (211 East Pleasant Run Road, at the corner of Pleasant Run and Hampton Roads). The City Council Work Session begins at 6 p.m. in the City Council Conference Room located behind the Council Chambers.

DeSoto City Council meetings are broadcast live in their entirety on this website and on the Government Access Channel 16 on Time Warner and Channel 99 on AT&T Uverse on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. A taped broadcast is aired each day on Channel 16 at 10 a.m., 2 p.m., 7 p.m., and 11 p.m. following the live broadcast.  Questions regarding the broadcast schedules should be directed to Kathy Jones, Community Relations Manager, at 972.230.9648. These taped broadcasts are also available to view on the City's website at your convenience. Questions regarding the Internet viewing of these meetings should be directed to the Office of the City Secretary at 972.230.9646.

The building in which the above meeting will be conducted is wheelchair accessible. Access to the building and special parking are available at the primary west entrance facing Hampton Road. Persons with disabilities who plan to attend this meeting and may require auxiliary aids or services such as readers or large print, or interpreters for persons who are deaf or hearing impaired, are requested to contact the Office of the City Secretary at 972.230.9646 or by E-mail at or by calling through a T.D.D. (Telecommunication Device for the Deaf) to Relay Texas 1.800.735.2989.

DeSoto City Council