Click to Home
Go To Search
Tax Office
John R. Ames
Dallas County Tax Assessor-Collector
500 Elm Street
Dallas, TX  75202

Ph: 214-653-7811
Fax: 214-653-7887

Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
School Districts and municipalities all over the country are searching for ways to cut costs while maintaining service for our customers and DeSoto is no exception. As a cost saving measure, the DeSoto Independent School District made the decision to move their tax collection to the Dallas County Tax Office. Since the overhead for the local office was shared by both entities, the DeSoto City Council has also decided to utilize Dallas County‚Äôs Tax Office. Using Dallas County to collect property taxes will save the City of DeSoto approximately $27,000 annually beginning in FY 2012.   

Follow this link for the Dallas County Tax Office.

If you have any questions regarding your tax statement, please call

Due Date
Taxes are due on January 31 and delinquent on February 1. If mailed, payments must have a U.S. Postmark by January 31 to not be considered delinquent.

How do I pay my City property taxes?

Online payment is available here.

Payments can also be made in person at the Dallas County Tax satellite office located at 100 E. Wheatland Rd. (corner of Wheatland and Main) in Duncanville. The Duncanville office is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Other satellite locations.

You may also mail payments to:

John R. Ames
Dallas County Tax Assessor-Collector
500 Elm Street
Dallas TX 75202-3304