Board of Directors

Keep Desoto Beautiful Corporation (KDB)
  • Comprised of seven members appointed by the City Council to serve for a two-year term with term limits of six years, and four student members selected by the Board, each student serving a school-year term.
  • Initiates, plans, and coordinates litter control and prevention programs.
  • Encourages the planting and preservation of trees, shrubs, and flowers.
  • Promotes a safer, healthier, and more beautiful community.
  • Stimulates interest and action toward conservation of resources through recycling.
  • Awards Property of the Month designation to a property that exemplifies the mission and goals of KDB.
  • A non-profit organization and affiliate of Keep Texas Beautiful, Inc.
Meeting Schedule
The Keep Desoto Beautiful Board of Directors meets the first Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Parks Conference Room.

Staff Representative
Phillip Lozano
Assistant Parks & Recreation Director

Council Representative 
Deshaundra Lockhart Jones

Board of Directors


Octavia Griffin

Place 4
Initial Appointment: 03/17
Current Term Expires 3/19


Place 3
Initial Appointment: 10/15
Current Term Expires: 3/17

Emuel Banks

Place 5
Initial Appointment: 11/13
Current Term Expires: 3/17


Place 2
Initial Appointment: 9/15
Current Term Expires: 3/17

Cathy Wesley

Place 6
Initial Appointment: 03/14
Current Term Expires: 3/18

Susan Smiley

Place 1
Initial Appointment: 10/14
Current Term Expires: 3/18

Danica Williams

Place 7
Initial Appointment: 01/14
Current Term Expires: 3/18 

Student Members