Parks and Recreation Board


  • The Parks and Recreation Board shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the city council. Members are appointed for a term of three (3) years provided however, in order to establish staggered terms of office, two (2) of the initial board members shall be appointed for two (2) year terms and two (2) of the initial members shall be appointed for one (1) year terms.
  • Oversees funds earmarked for the use of improving and developing DeSoto's parks through the 4-B sales tax proceeds.
  • Provides input and participates in Parks and Recreation Master Planning.
  • May raise funds through issuance of bonds, notes, or other debt instruments, and matching funds from the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department.

Meeting Schedule

The Parks & Recreation Board meets quarterly, on the first Monday of that month at 6:30 p.m. in the Civic Center, unless it falls on a Holiday, then the meeting will be the next following Monday.

Staff Representative

Chris Glover

Managing Director of Parks & Recreation


Email Chris Glover 

Council Representative

Letitia Hughes

Councilmember, Place 7


Email Councilmember Hughes